Skip to main content

Recent News

Congratulations to Mauricio Oportus! Beiling Wu Prize in Writing 2019 Recipient

August 30, 2019
Congratulations to Comparative Literary Studies PhD student, Mauricio Oportus, for receiving the 2019 Beiling Wu Prize in Writing! The Beiling Wu Prize in Writing is named for a former Northwestern graduate student in the humanities and is awarded to a doctoral student who wrote the best essay on literature or literary culture in the first year of the PhD program.  

Congratulations to CLS PhD Graduates!

June 14, 2019

The following students received their PhD in Comparative Literary Studies for 2018-19. Congratulations!

  • Patricia Anzini Da Costa: " 'Welcome, American Brother': Cultural Encounters Between Walt Whitman and Brazilian Writers" | Committee: Betsy Erkkila, Reg Gibbons, Harris Feinsod, Cesar Braga-Pinto, Maria Bonetti Paro | Home Department: English
  • Ruth Curry: "Problems of Plato's Poetics" | Committee: Gary S. Morson, Robert Hariman, Richard Kraut, Leon Kass | Home Department: Rhetoric & Public Culture
  • Richard Gabri: "Love's Limits: In Persian Poetry and Film" | Committee: Regina Schwartz, Peter Fenves, Nasrin Qader, Franklin Lewis | Home Department: English
  • Kritish Rajbhandari: "Anarchival Drift and the Limits of Community in Indian Ocean Fiction" | Committee: Evan Mwangi, Susannah Gottlieb, Nasrin Qader, Dilip Gaonkar | Home Department: English
  • Ben Schacht: "The Time of Labor: Literature and Industrial Capitalism from Percy Shelley to William Morris" | Committee: Stephen Eisenman, Marcus Moseley, Vivasvan Soni | Home Department: English
  • Vincent Valour: "Les Monstres en liberté ou quand la terre fait des bulles (Petit Essai de Phénoménologie des Monstres)" | Committee: Peter Fenves, Nasrin Qader, Sam Weber | Home Department: French

CLS Major, Lois Biggs, wins Sam Weber Paper Prize

June 6, 2019

Comparative Literary Studies major, Lois Biggs, wins Fall 2018 Sam Weber Prize for Best Paper in Art, Literature, and Contemporary European Thought, Paris Program. Lois' winning paper, "We Hold the Rock: Place, Protest, and Aesthetics on Alcatraz," will be in the Fall 2019 publication of the Columbia Journal of Politics and Society. Congratulations, Lois!

Read Lois' paper and learn more about the Art, Literature, & Contemporary European Thought study abroad program.

CLS undergraduate student, Max Rowe, awarded the American Comparative Literature Association Presidential Prize for Best Undergraduate Essay

March 5, 2019

Northwestern CLS undergraduates have been awarded the ACLA Presidential Prize for Best Undergraduate Essay for three consecutive years! Mary Bradford and Emma Montgomery won the award in 2017 and 2018. This year, we congratulate Max Rowe, who was awarded the prize for his senior thesis, “Heels, Heels, Heels, Heels, Heels: Repetition and Mu Shiying's Metropolis”. We are grateful to Tristram Wolff and Susannah Gottlieb for their leadership in CLS.

Back to top