Affiliated Faculty

Mark Alznauer (Department of Philosophy)


m-alznauer@northwestern.edu
German Philosophy (esp. Hegel), Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy.

Linda Austern (School of Music)

l-austern@northwestern.edu 
Literary-musical relations; music and the other arts in early modern Europe; music and critical theory; music and gender.

Scott P. Durham (Department of French and Italian)

spd594@northwestern.edu
20th-century literature, film, and theory, especially Foucault, Deleuze, and the Marxist critical tradition.

Christine Froula (Department of English)

cfroula@northwestern.edu

Interdisciplinary and transnational modernism; late 19th-20th-century literature, art, aesthetics; contemporary literary and gender theory; western literary traditions; textual scholarship; translation studies.

Marcia Gealy (WCAS Writing Program)

mgealy@northwestern.edu 
Modern Jewish Literature in translation and the Storytelling Tradition in Modern Jewish Literature.

Rebecca Johnson (Department of English, Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities)

rebecca-johnson-0@northwestern.edu
19th and 20th-century Arabic literature and 18th-century English literature, especially narrative; theory and history of the novel; pre-modern Arabic prose genres; Orientalism and Occidentalism; translation studies.

Lucille Kerr  (Department of Spanish and Portuguese)

lckerr@northwestern.edu
20th-century Latin American literature; the Boom and post-Boom eras; literary culture since the mid-20th century; literary theory; Latin American Jewish literature and culture.

Ilya Kutik (Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures)

i-kutik@northwestern.edu
eraction with Spanish, French, and German avant-garde; modernist era; Russian and Scandinavian (Swedish and Danish) realist visual arts; Scandinavian (Swedish and Danish) poetry.

Elisa Martí-López (Department of Spanish and Portuguese)

e-marti-lopez@northwestern.edu
Nineteenth-century Catalan and Spanish Fiction; the culture,
literature, and spaces of death; translation Studies.

Susan McReynolds Oddo (Slavic Languages and Literatures)

s-mcreynolds@northwestern.edu
Russian and German literature and philosophy; the evolution of nationalism and anti-Semitism; Romanticism; New Economic Criticism; issues of modernization; Dostoevsky.

Marcus Moseley (Department of German)

m-moseley@northwestern.edu
Hebrew literature; Yiddish literature; autobiography.

Cynthia Nazarian (Department of French and Italian)

nazarian@northwestern.edu
French, English and Italian Renaissance literature; the relationship between
literature and politics; poetry and poetics; Petrarch; gender and sexuality;
violence and aesthetics.

Barbara Newman (Department of English)

bjnewman@northwestern.edu
Medieval religious culture (especially in England and Germany); medieval poetry; women’s spirituality.

Vivasvan Soni (Department of English)

v-soni@northwestern.edu
18th-century British literature and critical and literary theory; the rise of the novel; moral and political theory; narratology; theories of tragedy; utopian writing; theories of modernity.

Sarah Valentine (Department of English)

sarah.valentine@northwestern.edu
Creative writing (screenwriting and creative non-fiction) and comparative literature (violence and the media, twentieth-century film, literature and criticism)

Alexander Weheliye (Department of English)


a-weheliye@northwestern.edu 
African-American and Afro-Diasporic literature and culture; critical theory; popular culture.

Tristram Wolff (Comparative Literary Studies & the Department of English)

 
Visiting Assistant Professor, 2014-16
triswolff@northwestern.edu
Tristram Wolff received his PhD from the Department of Comparative Literature at UC Berkeley in 2013. He works in comparative Romanticisms (English, German, American, French), with secondary research interests in critical theory, the history of language philosophies and linguistics, and the environmental humanities. He is currently writing a book tentatively titled Romantic Etymology and Language Ecology, which locates and defines an etymological poetics in European and American Romanticism by revealing material and natural figures of temporal process that changed language’s shape in the work of figures like Herder, Wordsworth, and Thoreau. Other interests include film, theories of comedy, and the ethics of speech. His publications include “Romantic Etymologies of Walden” (Essays in Romanticism), a review of contemporary German author Jenny Erpenbeck (“Inescapable Smallness,” The Nation, April 23, 2012), and a translation of Gerhard Roth’s novella The Will to Sickness (Burning Deck Press, 2006).